Librarian
Heather Perez
she/her
Contact:
Heather Perez
Special Collections Librarian
C-012
Special Collections Librarian
C-012
609-652-4532 (Reading Room)
609-652-4555 (Office)
609-652-4555 (Office)
About Digital Collections
This page lists digital collections available for online research. Most are open and freely available. Please remember that these are only some of the records that a site may offer for research. Most institutions cannot put everything they have in their holdings online. When you find digitized items of interest, you might wish to contact the site for more information and to see if there are additional holdings relating to what you are viewing.
Women's History
- History Commons This link opens in a new window
Provides vast quantities of archived historical information, previously furnished only in microformat, hard copy form or as images only. Primary source material has been selected to reflect a broad view of the times.
- African American Women Writers of the 19th Century (NYPL Schomburg)A digital collection of some 52 published works by 19th-century black women writers. A part of the Digital Schomburg, this collection provides access to the thought, perspectives and creative abilities of black women as captured in books and pamphlets published prior to 1920.
- Chicago Women's Liberation Union: Herstory ProjectThe online Archive of the Chicago Women's Liberation Union.
- Discovering American Women's History Online (MTSU)This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
- Godey's Lady's BookThis was one of the most popular lady's books of the 19th century. Each issue contained poetry, beautiful engraving and articles by some of the most well known authors in America.
- Good Housekeeping, 1885-1950Online archive of the magazine.
- HEARTH Home Economics Archive (Cornell)Core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines, published between 1850 - 1950.
- Jewish Women's ArchiveA national non-profit organization founded in 1995, the Jewish Women's Archive is devoted to making known the stories, struggles and achievements of Jewish women in North America in order to enrich the way they understand the past and to ensure a more inclusive future.
- RedstockingsIndex to the Online Readings of the Women's Liberation Archives For Action.
- Sophia Smith Collection of Women's History (Smith College)Openly-available collections include Camp Bonnie Brae Films, Dyke TV, Films of Phyllis Birkby, Florence R. Sabin Papers, and others.
- Martha Washington: A LifeNarrative of Martha Washington’s life, with a rich selection of historical materials associated with her story.
- Women in Science (Smithsonian)Photograph collection.
- Women in World HistoryA resource center to locate, analyze, and learn from primary sources dealing with women and gender in world history.
- Women Veterans Historical Project (UNC-Greensboro)Documents the contributions of women in the military and related service organizations since World War I.
- Women Working, 1800-1930 (Harvard U.)This site focuses on women's role in the U.S. economy and makes public more than 500,000 digitized pages including manuscripts, pamphlets, and photographs.
- Women Writers Resource Project (Emory U.)An online database of American and British genre fiction written by and about women in the late 19th and early 20th centuries to the Emory.
Stockton University Special Collections
- Special Collections for WGSS (Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies)This page reflects the WGSS program ideology as it attempts to create a comprehensive guide of notable New Jersey women cataloged within Stockton University's Special Collections.
Suffrage
- 19th Amendment Digital Collections (Library of Congress)A guide to digital collections at the Library of Congress relating to the women's suffrage movement.
- Black Women's Suffrage (DPLA)Collaborative project to provide digital access to materials documenting the roles and experiences of Black Women in the Women’s Suffrage Movement and, more broadly, women’s rights, voting rights, and civic activism between the 1850s and 1960.
- National Women's Party CollectionThe National Woman’s Party (NWP) collection housed at the Belmont-Paul Women’s Equality National Monument is an important resource for the study of the suffrage movement and the campaign for the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA).
- New York State Women's Suffrage Exhibition CollectionThis digital collection includes items related to women's suffrage in various formats, including advertisements, greeting cards, photographs, ephemera, maps, and articles, dated from 1848-1919.
- Scwimmer-Lloyd Collection (NYPL)The collection consists chiefly of correspondence and papers of Rosika Schwimmer (1877-1948), Lola Maverick Lloyd (1875-1944) and their associates relating to their work for the European and American feminist movements, woman suffrage, World War I mediation efforts, international peace and world government.
- Suffragists Oral History Project (Berkeley)In the early 1970s the Suffragists Oral History Project, under the auspices of the Bancroft Library's Regional Oral History Office, collected interviews with twelve leaders and participants in the woman's suffrage movement.
- Woman Suffrage in Maryland (Enoch Pratt Library)The Woman Suffrage in Maryland Collection consists of a selection of letters, pamphlets, and other ephemera dating from 1884 to 1928 taken from the Enoch Pratt Free Library's larger collection on the struggle for woman suffrage in Maryland.
- Women's Suffrage in Iowa (U. of Iowa)Resources that document participation in the fight for the vote and women’s political activism before and after 1920.
Women's Collections in Stockton Special Collections
Children's History
- Children and Youth in History,Provides primary source material regarding children and youth internationally.
- 19th Century Schoolbooks (Pittsburgh)A full-text collection of over one hundred textbooks published in the 1800s.