Student Success Librarian
Special Collections at Bjork Library
Search our Digital Collections here!
Stockton University Library Digital Collections is a centralized, publically-accessible database of the scholarly and creative works, special collections, and publications produced at Stockton University and in the South Jersey community.
Make an appointment with Special Collections
The Library collects, organizes, preserves and provides access to special collections, including the Stockton University Archives and the general history and culture of southern New Jersey.
These are available in the Reading Room, by making an appointment here.
Important Books
A Field Guide to the Pine Barrens of New Jersey by Call Number: QK175 .B68 1991, Special Collections, Lower LevelISBN: 9780937548196Publication Date: 1991-04-01
A Pine Barrens Odyssey by Call Number: QH105.N5 B69 1997ISBN: 0937548340Publication Date: 1997-12-01
Maps of New Jersey
- Digital Jerseyana Map CollectionAccess is provided by the NJ State Library.
- Historical Maps of New JerseyProvided by Rutgers University, Cartography Services.
- Maps of New Jersey PortalThe Maps of New Jersey portal charts over 300 years of the state’s development from multiple perspectives: geographic, geologic, political, environmental, historical. This “virtual collection” of maps is an aggregation of cartographic materials drawn from multiple collections within RUcore – The Rutgers University Community Repository.
- The National MapThe National Map is a collaborative effort among the USGS and other Federal, State, and local partners to improve and deliver topographic information for the Nation.
- NJ PinelandsA collection of maps provided by the New Jersey Pinelands Commission. Access is provided by the NJ State Library.
Suggested Subject Databases for Pine Barrens Research
- Agriculture & Environmental Science This link opens in a new window
- ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- Birds of the World This link opens in a new window
- Environmental Studies / GALE In Context This link opens in a new window
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Science (AAAS) This link opens in a new window
- SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Helpful Websites
- The Pinelands: An Overview from the Rutgers University Eagleton Institute of PoliticsContains images, maps, and primary source documents.
Other Helpful Library & Research Guides
- Digital Jerseyana CollectionPublications about New Jersey, including books, photographs, and postcards. Access is provided by the NJ State Publications Digital Library, NJ State Library.
- Hagley Museum & Library Digital ArchivesContains primary source documents.
- Pinelands Folklife ProjectThe Pinelands Folklife Project collection represents the culmination of a three-year effort to identify and record the cultural traditions in and around the Pinelands National Reserve in the Pine Barrens region of southern New Jersey in the mid-1980s.