Literature

What is a Reference Database?

American National Biography. Ed. John A. Garraty & Mark C. Carnes. Oxford, 1999.

Columbia Literary History of the United States. Ed. Emory Elliott et al. New York: Columbia Univ. Press, 1988.

Directory of Archives and Manuscript Repositories in the United States. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1988.

The Dictionary of American Biography. New York: Scribner, 1946-58, plus supplements.

The Dictionary of Literary Pseudonyms in the English Language. [T. J.] Carty. London: Mansell, 1995.

The Encyclopedia of Religion. Ed. Mircea Eliade et al. New York: Macmillan, 1987.

Familiar Quotations. Ed. John Bartlett. Boston: Little, Brown, 1992.

International Dictionary of Theatre. Ed. Mark Hawkins-Dady. Chicago: St. James Press, 1992, 1996.

Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies. James L. Harner. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 2002.

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. New York: Grove, 2001.

Oxford Companion to African American Literature. Ed. William Andrews. New York: Oxford Univ. Press, 1997.

Oxford Companion to Women’s Writing in the United States. Ed. Davidson, Cathy N. New York: Oxford Univ. Press, 1995.

Reference Guide to Short Fiction. Ed. Noelle Watson. Detroit: St. James Press, 1994.

The Timetables of History: A Horizontal Linkage of People and Events. Bernard Grun and Werner Stein. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1991.

via Humanities Full Text; MLA International Bibliography

Need a specific book or article and not finding it in FlashFind?

You can try requesting it through Interlibrary Loan.

Click here to access ILLiad, the Interlibrary Loan system.