Africana Studies: Black History Resources (US)

Digitized collections of interest may include the Cape May Jazz Festival Records and the John Henry "Pop" Lloyd Committee Records.

Digital collections from the Library of Congress relating to African American people, perspectives, and topics.

Bibliography of digitized African American magazines.

A digital collection of pamphlets and writings from two collections at the Library of Congress - the African American Pamphlet Collection and the Daniel A.P. Murray Collection. Dates of 1822 through 1909. Most were written by African-American authors, though some were written by others on topics of particular importance in African-American history.

A digital collection of some 52 published works by 19th-century black women writers. A part of the Digital Schomburg, this collection provides access to the thought, perspectives and creative abilities of black women as captured in books and pamphlets published prior to 1920.

Digital Humanities projects offering interactive atlases based on American history. Projects include maps of redlining, westward migration, urban renewal displacements, forced migration of enslaved people, and US politics.

The 1,280 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery.

Interviews about the urban disturbances of April 1968 in Baltimore, Maryland.

Interviews with Black politicians and leaders.

This reference center is dedicated to providing information to the general public on African American history and on the history of the more than one billion people of African ancestry around the world.

Collaborative project to provide digital access to materials documenting the roles and experiences of Black Women in the Women’s Suffrage Movement and, more broadly, women’s rights, voting rights, and civic activism between the 1850s and 1960.

Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves.

A scholarly and community research project dedicated to bringing the seven decades-long history of nineteenth-century Black organizing to digital life.

An online repository curated by the Moorland-Spingarn Research Center and the Howard University Libraries.

The Digital Library on American Slavery offers data on race and slavery extracted from eighteenth and nineteenth-century documents and processed over a period of eighteen years. The Digital Library contains detailed information on about 150,000 individuals, including slaves, free people of color, and whites; extracted from 2,975 legislative petitions and 14,512 county court petitions, and from a wide range of related documents, including wills, inventories, deeds, bills of sale, depositions, court proceedings, and amended petitions.

The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture located in Harlem, New York, is a research unit of The New York Public Library system

Online archive of the magazine.

Search numerous datasets and reconstruct the lives of people involved in the historical slave trade.

Created to control the movement of enslaved people, runaway ads ultimately preserved the details of individual lives--their personality, appearance, and life story.

Images, texts, maps and documents relating to the forced migration of enslaved Africans to the Americas and the Caribbean.

Interactive mapping tool displays historical map and current map to show changing neighborhoods.

Building upon the achievements of Stanford University’s Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers Project, the Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute supports a broad range of activities illuminating the Nobel Peace laureate’s life and the movements he inspired.

National Archives collections, including digitized papers and photographs relating to the Black Power Movement, Tuskegee Syphilis Experiments, the 1963 March on Washington, President Barack Obama, and more.

The library of the New-York Historical Society holds among its many resources a substantial collection of manuscript materials documenting American slavery and the slave trade in the Atlantic world.

Created by America Public Media, this site contains a collection of oral histories that document African American experiences of Jim Crow.

Slave Biographies: The Atlantic Database Network is a database of information on the identities of enslaved people in the Atlantic World.

The Trans-Atlantic and Intra-American slave trade databases are the culmination of several decades of independent and collaborative research by scholars drawing upon data in libraries and archives around the Atlantic world.

Digital exhibit by Stockton Professor Wendel A. White of historically African American communities of southern New Jersey.

Includes interviews, archives, and photographs relating to the work of the SNCC.

"The recordings of former slaves in Voices Remembering Slavery: Freed People Tell Their Stories took place between 1932 and 1975 in nine states."

This site is designed to help researchers and students find primary sources related to slavery, abolition, and resistance within the university's many libraries and galleries.