Student Success Librarian
FlashFind Simple Search
Interdisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search CompleteOffers a multidisciplinary collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. This database is a leading source of peer-reviewed, full-text articles.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources.
Subject Specific Databases
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text abstracts and articles from all fields of science. Most journal articles become available immediately after peer review and before the printed versions are issued. Additionally, this database offers multimedia features not available in print journals, such as video, audio and spreadsheet files.
- Science (AAAS) This link opens in a new window
Science is a premier journal that publishes cutting-edge, peer review research and science news.
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
BioOne Complete is the full-text database of 200+ titles from over 150 publishers in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- Environmental Studies / GALE In Context This link opens in a new window
Topic overview pages bring together materials in all digital formats. Users can read or watch to get the facts with articles, videos, charts, images and infographics, and more.
Open Access Databases and Indexes
- American Mineralogist Crystal Structure DatabaseThis site is an interface to a crystal structure database that includes every structure published in the American Mineralogist, The Canadian Mineralogist, European Journal of Mineralogy and Physics and Chemistry of Minerals, as well as selected datasets from other journals. The database is maintained under the care of the Mineralogical Society of America and the Mineralogical Association of Canada, and financed by the National Science Foundation.
- arXivarXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for nearly 2.4 million scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.
- Climate WatchDesigned to empower policymakers, researchers, media and other stakeholders with the open climate data, visualizations and resources they need to gather insights on national and global progress on climate change.
- Mindat.org - mineral databaseOpen database of minerals, rocks, meteorites and the localities they come from. Mindat.org is run by the not-for-profit Hudson Institute of Mineralogy.
- Mineralogy DatabaseThe Mineralogy Database contains 4,714 individual mineral species descriptions with links and a comprehensive image library.
- OAJSEFree Open Access Journals in Geology.
- OSTI.GOVThe primary search tool for Department of Energy (DOE) funded science, technology, and engineering research results.
- Science.govScience.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
- USGS Geo Data PortalThe Geo Data Portal (GDP) provides access to numerous datasets, including gridded data for climate and land use. From the US Geological Survey, US Dept. of the Interior.
- USGS Mineral Resources Online Spatial DataInteractive maps and downloadable data for regional and global analysis.
- USGS Publications WarehouseThe Pubs Warehouse provides access to over 170,000 publications written by US Geological Survey scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau.
- USGS Publications WarehouseThe Pubs Warehouse provides access to over 170,000 publications written by US Geological Survey scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau.
Maps & Data
- IRI/LDEO Climate Data LibraryContains over 300 datasets from a variety of earth science disciplines and climate-related topics.
- PALEOMAP ProjectPlate tectonic development of the ocean basins and continents, as well as the changing distribution of land and sea.
- Perry-Castañeda LibraryMap Collection
How to Find Journal Articles
Flashfind
Type keywords into the search box above or on the homepage of the Bjork Library's website. Filter your results to Articles.
Databases
Select the specific database you want to search through from the list above or on our A-Z Databases page. Type keywords into the search bar to start your search. Filter results or add additional keywords as needed to tailor your results to your topic.
Journals
Search our journal collection through our Journal Lookup page or by selecting a journal from the list on this page. Once on the journal homepage, type in your keyword, title, or author into the Search in this Journal search bar.
Search Using Citations
If you are looking for specific citations, use our Citation Lookup tool.
Popular Journals
- GeologyCoverage: 1973 - Present
- Remote Sensing of EnvironmentCoverage: 1995 - Present
- Engineering GeologyCoverage: 1965 - Present
- Bulletin of the Geological Society of AmericaCoverage: 1890 - Present; Multiple formats
- Precambrian ResearchCoverage: 1995 - Present
- Rock Mechanics and Rock EngineeringCoverage: 1997 - Present
- LithosCoverage: 1995 - Present
- Earth Systems and EnvironmentCoverage: 2017 - Present
- Marine and Petroleum GeologyCoverage: 1995 - Present
Other Popular Journals
- Geology Scimago Journal & Country RankA list of other popular journal suggestions.