Student Success Librarian
Welcome
Welcome to the Biology Research Guide. In this guide you will find relevant information to the overall field of Biology as well as resources for many of biology's subfields.
Science Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
-
Chemical Compounds Offers information on the ways in which different chemical elements combine to form commonly-used chemical compounds, such as water, ammonia, and aspirin. Defines what a chemical compound actually is and the difference between organic and inorganic compounds, as well as providing definitions of acids, bases, salts, oxides, and coordination compounds. Features a general historical overview // Neil Schlager, Jayne Weisblatt, and David E. Newton, eds. Detroit, MI: UXL, 2006. 888 pp. 3 vols.
-
Chemical Elements Provides in-depth information on 112 known chemical elements, plus coverage of recently discovered elements 113 through 116 and 118. // David E. Newton. Kathleen J. Edgar, ed. 2nded. Detroit, MI: UXL, 2010. 1003 pp. 3 vols.
-
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times. 2008. 27 vols.
-
Gale Encyclopedia of Science Covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology. K. Lee Lerner and Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, eds. 4th ed. Detroit, MI: Gale, 2008. 4992 pp. 6 vols.
-
Grzimek's Student Animal Life Resource This resource book offers broad, comprehensive coverage of the animal kingdom. 2005. 5108 pp. 21 vols.
-
Scientific Thought: In Context Includes original essays written by leading experts in the field, primary source documents that articulate the interrelation of science and society, and sidebars on the cultural, economic, and political issues surrounding scientific thought -- providing insights on leading social issues and exploring the impact of science on society through the ages. Gale, 2009. 1394 pp. 3 vols.
Accessing Materials Outside of Stockton
ADD INFORMATION ABOUT ILL HERE
Tutoring @ Stockton
-
Book a TutorThis is a direct link to the Stockton Math center's list of tutors by specialty.