The library selects, acquires, catalogs and makes available print, electronic, microform and media resources in support of the academic programs and the general information needs of the Stockton community.
The collection contains
|Current print periodical subscriptions||85|
|Bound periodical volumes||37,015|
|Print and electronic full-text periodicals||103,144|
|Government documents, print||270,000|
|Government documents, microforms||50,000|
|Bound index and abstract volumes||8,678|
The library is a repository for federal, state (New Jersey), and Pinelands Commission documents. It also houses various Special Collections.
The library welcomes unrestricted gifts. It is determined on a case-by-case basis whether donations meet the collection criteria and enhance the research and pedagogical value of the collection. The library retains the right to dispose of donated materials. Donors must understand and agree to all conditions of the donation in writing.
The library develops collections at a level appropriate to the degree programs offered. Acquisition decisions are made on an item-by-item basis. Because the university is committed to providing a liberal arts education, the library provides a representative selection of the major works in all appropriate areas of knowledge.
The principal formats collected by the library are:
Subject librarians work with Stockton faculty to select materials for the collection. Stockton's faculty members are encouraged to consult with their program's Subject Librarian to acquire new material in their area of interest.